What countries covers / covers / includes / protects the CTM or European Community Trademark?

2013-12-02 10:00:58
Filed under: Sin categoría @en

The European Community Trademark (CTM) does not include all the countries of Europe.  The CTM only covers the countries of the European Union that are most but not all of Europe. If you apply a CTM you are requesting the registration of the trademark in all EU countries as a"block". You do not have to designate each country as in the international trademark applications. Therefore it is easy to get oppositions against the CTM application and consequently we recommend to apply a CTM through a professional, such as Volartpons.

Bandera de la UE

The countries in the European Union and therefore covered by the Community Trademark (CTM) today are:

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom.

It is important to remember that there are other European countries that are not part of the EU and therefore not covered. These are:

Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Liechtenstein, Moldova, Monaco, Norway, Russia, San Marino, Switzerland, Ukraine, State of Vatican City.


Post a comment:

Our community helps you